The End of the Road

20131230-222702.jpgHorcones Helipad

I am sad to report that today my Aconcagua expedition has come to an unexpected and early end. Having completed the first carry to Camp 1 at 5,000m on Sunday 29th, my second medical assessment at Base Camp revealed a worsening case of Pulmonary Oedema (fluid on the lungs). Within an hour of the assessment I was transported by Helicopter to Horcones base. I will spend the night at the Refuge in Penitentes and transfer to Mendoza in the morning for further medical assessments. Descending to a lower altitude already feels much better.

This is a gutting end to the expedition and my Everest dream. Getting here has taken months of training, preparation and a huge amount of support from my family, friends and colleagues. But altitude related illnesses are unbiased and can affect anyone regardless of age or fitness. Learning how my body responded to altitude was part of the journey and sadly, despite giving it my best, I have had to come down.

It has been amazing to see South America for the first time and have the opportunity to climb Aconcagua. I hope my departure does not impact the summit success for John, Shamin and Kevin on the expedition team. Thank you to two of the best guides ever (Mauricio and Maria) who made the expedition so much fun and kept us safe. And thank you to the Aconcagua Park Rangers for their medical assessment and evacuation provisions…they were professional and did not waste anytime with getting me off the Mountain.

Happy New Year to all…already lots of low altitude things to look forward to!

I will be on the way back to the UK later this week hopefully.

4 thoughts on “The End of the Road

  1. Sorry to see your trip come to this end result after all the training and hard work you put in. As you say there is nothing you can do to avoid HAPE. All the best for future plans. I was watching weather forecasts – looks like you were in some pretty strings winds?

  2. Owen, sorry this put an end to your Everest goal. Glad you’re safe though. No matter what, it must still have been an amazing experience. Let us know when you’re back in the area. Happy New Year and safe trip home, Mark and Erin.

    • Mark/Erin,

      Thanks for the message and hope you had a great Christmas. Although shorter than planned it was the best experience. I had a great team, two of the best and most banterous guides and it has been awesome to see Argentina and the Andes. Will be in touch in the new year and will try to squeeze a Southampton visit in sometime in January. Catch you soon.

      O

Leave a comment